Universal Credit

Universal Credit Full Service has been rolled out in Dudley and Solihull and due to boundary variations, it covers some Bromsgrove District residents in Hagley and Wythall.

The postcodes that are affected are: B90 1, B62 0, DY8 2, DY9 0, and DY9 9.

If you live in these postcodes and find yourself out of work or on reduced hours you may be eligible for Universal Credit rather than Housing Benefit or a range of other benefits.

Some people are exempt from Universal Credit, for example if you have more than two children and do not already claim Universal Credit, or live in certain types of supported accommodation.

Apply for Universal Credit or find out more here.

Universal Credit is the new working age benefit from the government that replaces six income based benefits:

  1. Job Seekers Allowance
  2. Housing Benefit
  3. Working Tax Credit
  4. Child Tax Credit
  5. Employment and Support Allowance, and
  6. Income Support.

It is is paid once a month into a bank or building society account.

Please note that to apply you will need:

  1. An active email address
  2. A mobile phone number
  3. Details of your bank account, building society or credit union account
  4. Your rent or mortgage costs
  5. Your wages
  6. Details of any children and/or your partner
  7. Photo ID (exceptions apply).